Here we go…

The first few weeks with my new handler involved just getting used to my new family pack, which includes two other BIG dogs… ahhh! big dogs are so much fun (although they do cause me to lose my bladder contents sometimes from all the excitement!).

The big dogs don’t mind me jumping up on them (although I do get a few growls when I take it too far) and I can play rough with them… woof!

After a few weeks the routine changed! so after my usual daily bush walk with the handler and the other dogs, I was put in my travel cage (which is where I sleep each night and always travel in) and taken to another location away from home. At this new location something was put around my neck, and as soon as that happened the handler’s behaviour changed too?! It was all serious and I could not get away with my cute puppy antics anymore (grrrr!).

‘Sit’ says the handler… ‘sit’ says the handler again.

I have no idea what that word means, so I just put my butt on the ground and look at the handler for more information.

Instead I get this treat given to me… Yummy!!

So I jump up at my handler for some more! and get a ‘sit’ again.

Hmmmm! that word again. Ok, I better put my butt back down and think about this…

Oh! another treat! Yummy!… Hold on, there is a connection. ‘Sit’ + butt on the ground = treat (yummy).

I like this treat relationship… woof! woof! 🙂

Suddenly the thing around my neck comes off and I hear an ‘OK’. The handler’s behaviour became playful all of a sudden.

Interesting…

~ by conservationdog on March 9, 2012.

One Response to “Here we go…”

  1. Aha you’re learning fern

Leave a Reply

 
